aero is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Macro and Submacro to query and display a table of 4 queries based on 1 form

Hello,
    I'm relatively new to Access and am trying to work on a macro to work as follows. I'm a novice programmer but don't know VBA or SQL yet and am trying to do the following:

User form has two combo boxes-

1) Reporting Period-not a key

2) Company ID-not a key

After the selection has been made for both comboboxes, I would like to run a query on the selected survey period, then re-run this query on the reporting period offset by -1 (the reporting period directly before the one selected in the dropdown list using listindex). I would like to use a for loop to rerun this query 3 time such that in total I receive four reporting periods. Finally I would like to display a joined table of these reports within a subform in datasheet view:

Report Period Selection Report Period-1 Report Period-2 Report Period -3
    Product 1 . . . .
    Product 2 . . . .
    Product 3 . . . .

I know this is super easy, but I haven't figured out the syntax for VBA or Expression builder in Access 2010 yet. Can anyone help? Thanks!

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    how are you storing your reporting period? if it's a date (or a date ending) you can pick the top four periods through a query then select all records relevant to those surveys.

For instance if your reporting period is actually stored as a start and end date this would be relatively simple

You shouldn't need to re-run the reports for consecutive periods at all, just run one report that covers all four, inserting page breaks between periods.

aero is offline Novice
    The date is a column in the table I am calling the query from formatted "MMDDYY"

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    that doesn't really answer the question, how is it being STORED, is it a text field following string formatting, is it being stored as date/time? a number?