bking is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

General Ideas for my database

Hello everyone I am new to Microsoft access and have to make a database for a report. The report is all of the current jobs for the company and have various information about each on. There will be many users who have access to the information and depending on the position be able to edit certain parts of the table. I already know that I need to create a BE and a separate FE for each type of user, now I am getting into the functionality of the database. So here is what I am looking for. I need to be able to restrict what people can see and I am looking for a way to time stamp every time a user edits data and log it along with there initials. I have already hidden the panes in the navigation bar so that only the forms are visible and I have no idea how to timestamp when new data in entered.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    If you are tracking users you would need a tLogs table to track all this ,
    at the forms AFTER UPDATE event:
    you would run an append query

Code:
    sSql = "INSERT into tLogs ([user],[form],  [editDate]) values('" & CurrentUser() & "','" & me.name & "',#" & now() & "#")
    docmd.runSql sSql

bking is offline Novice
    ranman

I am using Access 2010 and from what I read online the ability to set up users is no longer availible

John_G is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Hi -

The old method of defining users and setting up permissions using a Workgroup file is gone, yes, but you can still do much the same thing within your database by having a User table and a login form. It does take some VBA programming to implement, though, especially if you have different requirements for different users.