Comiccradle is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Loss of data with Union Query

Good day to you all.

I'm not a pro with Access, although I have made several databases. Usually with reading, trial and error I find my way, but with the database I'm working on now I don't know how to solve the problem. The problem is as follows..... I have two tables one (table PPN) Title en PPN number, and one (table Title) Title and VV number. With the union query I made a new table. With Title, PPN number and VV number. Of the 1470 records 700 have the PPN and 740 do not, although all 1470 title have an PPN. The problem is that the titles can be somewhat different in both tables, this could be an added sub title, or punctuation although they are the same, or meant to be, as an example....

Table Title-----Title: Run and Jump VV: 4875
    Table PPN-----Title: Run and Jump excercises PPN: 4879563

Becomes with the union query Run and JumpVV:4875

Another example

Table Title-----Title: Skiprope VV: 5378
    Table PPN-----Title: Skiprope PPN: 585898

Becomes with the union query Skiprope VV: 5378 PPN: 585898

Although in the first example the titles are somewhat different they are both the same titles. Do any of you have a suggestion how I can solve the problem that the query will accept the difference in the titles as see them as one.

Many thanks in advance, respectfully CC

hapm is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    I'm not sure if you mean a real UNION query here, I think it is a JOIN query instead. Anyway it would be nice to see the SQL you use for the query. Simply change to sql view and copy the content here.

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    I would make an additional field LEFT([Title],instr([[title],":")-1) as "Group", to get the ACUTAL title without any id#s.
    You could batch data that way.

Windows 8 Access 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by hapm View Post