jrmbach is offline Novice
    Windows 2K Access 2000

Smile Access Best Practices

I have been using MS Access 2000 for over ten years. I understand most of the basics, but I’m still not secure with the “best practices” for building an Access application. For example, I have typically created a Form or Report from a Table. Over the years I have learned more about Queries. I now create a Query from the Table and use the Query to select certain records for a Report and to sort the records in the Report. Also, a Form is typically sequenced by the Record Key. Is it possible to sequence a Form by a different Field by using a Query as the source of the data for a Form, i.e.. sorting the Query by a Date Field that is not the Record Key?

Is it a good practice to always create a Query from each Table and use that Query as the source for each Form and Report?

Is it better to sort records with a Query or in the Report itself?

I frequently use Table Lookups for some fields. If I want to add a Record to the Lookup Table, I go straight to the Table, add the Record and resort the Table. Is it better to add the Records using a Form, create a Query to resort the Table and use the Query for the Table Lookup?

Can you recommend a book that covers these “best practices”? The books I’ve seen either cover only the Access basics or cover complicated applications without explaining the reasons for their implementation decisions.

Thank you.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    I don't think query is inherently better than table as form RecordSource. I often bind forms directly to tables. Use query if you want to build in static filter criteria or create fields with expressions. Just depends what you want to accomplish in the form.

Query sorts are ignored by reports if report Grouping & Sorting features are applied.