pkell658 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2003

Text File Link

Greetings. Total noob here. I have a unique issue that I've never encountered before. I am working with monthly data that in raw text requires about 6 gigabytes to store in 12 delimited text files. I originally had twelve separate monthly files that I appended into two separate six month files. To do this append, I used the copy command from the DOS command line. That may be an issue. However, assuming that the DOS command simply appended the files together properly, I believe I have an Access issue using the linked tables. Once the files were combined into 2 files, I linked them into Access with a delimited import spec.

Here is the first level issue: When I query the linked tables, Access does not reflect the actual values of the raw text file.

Example: One record has a value of 17,627,310 in the linked table but an actual raw file value of 17,627,314.0

I have the linked tables set up to link that particular field as a Single data type. I cannot open the raw file using any text editor because the file is 3 gigabytes, but the individual monthly file can be viewed and shows a value of 17,627,314.0

Here is where the second-level issue occurs: If I run a GroupBy aggregation on the linked table, the value is summed properly as 17,627,314 like the raw file. However, if I turn off aggregation and view the data and/or copy the values to the clipboard, the value returns to 17,627,310

I should also point out that the reason I am using the linked tables is to avoid the 2GB restriction in Access. Also, I originally tried a master 6GB text file linked table, but Access could not read the data from the file. Is there a specific GB linked text file limitation that may be contributing to this problem? The two 3GB links seem to be working but for this issue.