venomshot is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000

Validating Field Data Across Tables?

Hello all,

I am new to Access and am trying to create my first test database, based around inventory..

I have 3 tables: Inventory, ResponsibleParty and SpecSheet.

What i would like is that when someone is filling out a form to add something into inventory, the Inventory table with check with the ResponsibleParty table to verify that the user has already been entered first, and check in the SpecSheet to verify that the computer model (for example) has been entered in.

In other words, I want to make sure the ResponsibleParty and Computer Model has already been entered into the database before the user is allowed to enter that information. Then, if they try to add a "Dell" to inventory, belonging to "Bob", both of those entries will have to already exist in the other two related tables.

Is there any way to require such data has been entered into the other tables first, and for Inventory table to check, and if data does not match (maybe misspelling of name) an error will pop up to say enter name in ResponsibleParty table first?

I have tried to make the 3 tables relational, but it is saying all need primary keys, which I do not understand if I am just trying to basically datacheck across tables?

Thanks in advance

- Chris

NassauBob is offline Not THAT Green
    Windows XP Access 2003
    What you are referring to here is called Referential Integrity, and is discussed in detail here:http://support.microsoft.com/kb/304466

You set these constraints in the Relationships window. To get there, click on Tools, then Relationships.

And yes, every table will be required to have a primary key, a foreign key, or both.

Quote Originally Posted by NassauBob View Post
    What you are referring to here is called Referential Integrity, and is discussed in detail here:http://support.microsoft.com/kb/304466