Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    niall is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Complete novice with Access and got a few simple (hopefully) questions

Only been using Access for just under a year in A-level Computing, and I've hit a few walls in my coursework project.

It's a football (soccer) league table with a form to input the match data, and I've got most of it working. I've got lines upon lines of coding to determine things like who the winner is and update queries to add the points into a table along with clean sheets, goal difference and games played etc.

1) Basically, the actual league table is shown through a subform on a report. It's opened through a button, and just displays a preview of the report. The *LEAGUE* table is sorted into points which, I'm sure many of you know, is the way in which league tables are ordered. However, other fields such as games played and goal difference come in to account - for example: Man Utd; 79 pts; 32 games played take a higher league position than Chelsea; 79 pts; 33 games played. Goal difference is 3rd in the sorting priority order - for example: Man Utd; 79 pts; 32 games played; +40 goal difference take a higher league position than Chelsea; 79 pts; 32 games played; 38 goal difference.
    How can I sort the *LEAGUE* table in to order through more than one field? Will I need to put code into the criteria in my select query than generates the fields for the subform? Or will it not work at all in a subform? Any help appreciated but please remember I am a novice and don't have as much of an understand of Access as a lot of you seem to!!