AlanH is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Two-stage query?

For no reason other than it was included in Office 2010, I chose Access to implement a home consumables inventory database. I think I have jumped off the deep end before learning to swim. This is my first attempt at using Access. Nevertheless, I have gotten well along in the DB’s implementation – having thus far produced 8 tables, 4 forms, 5 queries and 6 reports. I don’t know SQL, so I’m using the wizards, Expression Builder, VBA and other design aids built into Access. I am now stuck on a Restock report.

Background: The basic DB design is embodied in four tables, joined in one-to-many relationships. The top table is a table of categories (Categories table – example: batteries). Each category may have many subcategories (Subcategory table – example: AAA, AA, C, etc. batteries). Each subcategory may have many products (Product table – example: Kirkland AA Batteries, 40 count). Each product may have many instances (Items table – example: Kirkland AA Batteries bought 4/15/13, expires 10/5/18, Kirkland AA Batteries bought 1/30/14, expires 2/13/20.)

The Subcategory table includes ShelfLife , ConsumptionRate and a TrackByContainer flag. It is at the subcategory that stocking decisions must be made. TrackByContainer is set to True for items that are consumed a container at a time, like a package of bread mix. It is set to False for items that are consumed by unit, like batteries. So ConsumptionRate means packages per month for items that are consumed and tracked by container and it means units per month for items that are consumed and tracked by unit.

TargetStockQty: [ConsumptionRate]*[ShelfLife]

And inventory is a count of packages for items tracked by container and a count of units for items tracked by unit. Thus inventory is either a Count of items or a Sum of item sizes [ContainerSize] in the Items table, by subcategory, as a function of the TrackByContainer flag.