Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    sbart is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5

    Drop down selection is being saved in the table


    I have a lookup field in a table. When I am in the table, I see the choices in the drop down. I select one. It does not save in the table! Any ideas?

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,209
    The Control Source property of the combo would need to be a field in the form's source (presumably the desired table).
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    2,942
    This is somewhat confusing! Your thread title is

    Drop down selection is being saved in the table

    Then in your post you say

    It does not save in the table

    Which is it?

    Also, is this an actual Lookup Field in the Table, or is this, as Paul is assuming, a Combobox on a Form?

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  4. #4
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    Quote Originally Posted by sbart View Post
    ...I select one. It does not save in the table!....
    What value is "saved" in the table?

  5. #5
    sbart is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5
    I am still in the design stage. I did type in the subject line wrong, the value is not being saved in the table. I have not created any queries or forms yet. This is in Datasheet view. The lookup field is working, i see the drop down. But the one that I select is not saving. It is left with a blank field once I tab off.

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    49,217
    Show the settings for properties:

    RowSource
    ControlSource
    BoundColumn
    ColumnCount
    ColumnWidths

    Advise not to create lookups in table, especially if involves alias.

    http://access.mvps.org/access/lookupfields.htm
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Auto text based on drop menu selection
    By mandykoonts in forum Forms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-06-2014, 04:17 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-07-2013, 05:22 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-14-2013, 04:29 PM
  4. Drop-down list values selection
    By Haleakala17 in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 03:59 PM
  5. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-12-2009, 02:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums