cfraser is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Retrieving multiple rows and putting into 1'string

Hi Guys

I have the following problem.

I am very new to SQL and I am busy using microsoft access to learn the syntax.

I am trying to write a query that selects multiple rows of a table and puts those into a single string with a comma delimiter.

I want it to select all rows after a specific word is found in the row above and then stop selecting when another specific word below the last row is found.

Example below: >>>

The data i am using is very unorganised and has not headers, so I have to try and specific lines in order to allocate them to a specific user.

Sample Data:

ID FullContent
    459 Authorized Privileges:
    460 ACNT ALLSPOOL ALTPRI AUDIT BUGCHK BYPASS
    461 CMEXEC CMKRNL DIAGNOSE DOWNGRADE EXQUOTA GROUP
    462 GRPNAM GRPPRV IMPERSONATE IMPORT LOG_IO MOUNT
    463 NETMBX OPER PFNMAP PHY_IO PRMCEB PRMGBL
    464 PRMMBX PSWAPM READALL SECURITY SETPRV SHARE
    465 SHMEM SYSGBL SYSLCK SYSNAM SYSPRV TMPMBX
    466 UPGRADE VOLPRO WORLD
    467 Default Privileges:

Output Expected:

"
    ACNT,ALLSPOOL,ALTPRI,AUDIT,BUGCHK,BYPASS,CMEXEC,CM KRNL,DIAGNOSE,DOWNGRADE,EXQUOTA,GROUP,GRPNAM,GRPPR V,IMPERSONATE,IMPORT,LOG_IO,MOUNT,NETMBX,OPER…etcc "

The delimiter can be anything.

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Will require VBA procedure. Review http://allenbrowne.com/func-concat.html
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Will require VBA procedure. Review http://allenbrowne.com/func-concat.html
    Thanks for this.