justair07 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

VBA to locate a file and print it

Hello,

I'm very new to Access and especially VBA. Can someone help me get started with the correct syntax for locating a file, and printing it. The file will be a PDF and if possible I would like to declare a variable for the file name (not the path) so if it is changed I can just change the variable instead of looking for it in the code. I plan to have 10 of these.

Thank you in advance to anyone willing to lend a helping hand.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Not sure what you are trying to do. I understand the need to print a file, but how do you want to search for it? How do you imagine the action of locating the file?

I have several access forms that are almost identical to paper forms that are stored on our company server network. I would like for the user to open the access form, press a button and it prints the actual paper form located on the server network. They will then go offsite to complete the paper form, return to there desk and fill in the access form. FYI, I'm using a split database.

I've ran macros in excel that open other files by the following code:
    Code:
    Workbooks.Open ("\\myFilePath")
    I was hoping access had the same capabilities, only instead of open, it would simply print.

Windows XP Access 2003
    The answer is you log the path at the time the "form" is printed into a field in a table.

Having said that, post #3 is causing some confusion for me. When I hear the term, "Access form", I think of an Access Object that is a part of an Access database file. Opening an Access form allows users to view and or input data directly into tables in Access database files.

If Access is printing a PDF file located on a network share and you want to search for that same file at a later date, you should store the path of the PDF file at the time it is printed.

Correct.