Ondrea is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Vertically spacing options in an option group/or other survey formatting suggestions

Hello all,
    It is my first time to the forum, so any suggestions on proper etiquette are welcome . I am working with someone to create a survey in Access 2010. I am designing the front end forms for the survey, and he is connecting the front end forms to a SQL database. The end result should be a digital survey students take online, with a series of questions, each question having about 5 options after it that a student can choose from. The problem I am having is with formatting controls within the form. The alignment tools for left/right/bottom/top/etc work fine. It is the equal spacing option for in between controls (ex: equal vertical) that I am having issues with. It works fine if you use the 'option button' controls seperately, but my partner wants me to create an 'option group' to put the 'option buttons' inside. He seems to think that that is the only way the form will work, because we tried just using the seperate option buttons, and they will not let the user switch between options, they all just stay selected. Since Access will not let me use the 'equal vertical' command within the option group, I have also tried just selecting all the option buttons inside the option group and hitting the 'Stacked' button under the Arrange tab, in the Form Design Tools group. This distributed my options equally vertically, but it puts the button on the other side of the question, which my partner does not want. The final technique I tried was turning on the control wizard, selecting the option group tool, after which I am prompted to label each option. I typed the question answers into the space for the labels, and it worked great and when I was done distributed everything evenly, but there is a limit on how long each 'label' can be, so for answers that are too long it does not work. So, I hope I am not over-explaining, I