scihide is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Question Clickable List of Records (Office 2007-2013)

Hi everyone! First time posting here, and you have already helped me so much already from me reading other posts here

I just have a question on making an interface for my database.

Some sample databases and office templates have in them, a list of the names of all the records embedded directly on a form, where you can navigate from one record being displayed to another.

An example is in the contacts database template that you can get from Microsoft. It features, on the left, a list of the names of all the people in your database, alphabetically. So, all you have to do is click on John Smith, and bam, John's information will appear in the fields on the right side of the form. If you want to move to Claire Jones, all you have to do is click her name and her information will appear in the fields on the right.

Basically, I am a lab manager and I am trying to create a chemical inventory for our laboratory, where all I have to do is click a name of the chemical and its entries pop up.

Thanks in advance for any help!

-Dean

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Why don't you examine the forms in design view? Get to know the programming behind the forms. Adapt for your application.

I downloaded the MS desktop Contacts db and it seems to use mostly macro code - Embedded Macros. However, I am not seeing the design as you describe it.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Unfortunately I am a noob to Access and I do not fully understand macros. I have seen this in other databases as well, such as this one that I found a while ago:
    http://access.microsofttemplates.org...-template.html

You can easily see this in the picture.