gilhammer24 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Record Too Large for every update query I run after MS updates

Let start off by saying I am a novice at best. Completely self taught through Google. Running Windows 7 64bit and Access 2010. That being said here is my problem. I have several databases that I append new data to monthly as it becomes available. I have a series of queries (50+) programed to update, calculate, and sort the data to various tables as needed. It seems that since I have installed a barrage of updates during the last month (the only thing I can think of thats changed), nearly every update query I run returns the error "Record Too Large". This occurs on queries that may only be updating a maximum of 4 characters on the low end and up to 200 characters on the high end. Not large amounts of data at all. I have had success with one database by simply running one query, closing out the database, reopenning the database and running the next. Very time consuming and frustrating. Suggestions?????

Dal Jeanis is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Wow. Never heard of this one before, but apparently Access has a limit of 2000 characters total for any one record, not counting memo fields.

google "Access record too large"
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/111304
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/o...d-7663462d4782

So, first, you need to analyze your tables and find out which ones are designed such that the records are likely to hold long amounts of text in text-type fields. If you have this situation, you'll either have to move some of them to "tall thin records" - for example by creating a "textnotes" table and storing the key to the textnote on the regular table, and the note itself on the textnotes table - or change some of them to memo type fields, which are not subject to the limitation. (Presumably because they are already handled somewhat like the textnotes idea above).