krenzc is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Question Current date/time fields update on first focus; no subsequent updates

I apologize up front for my inexperience; I am decent with computers, but I am not experienced with Access and do NOT know VBA. Any help would be appreciated. I searched the forums, but sorry if I missed this topic.

A bit of background: I am putting together a form for telephone interviewers to use for a study we are doing. I want to make it as user friendly as possible (for their sake, as well as to justify the use of an electronic format to reduce additional data entry). Here’s one thing I would like to do…

For the call log portion of the form, they need to enter the current date and time. When they’re tabbing through (or click these fields), how can I make it so that the current date and time automatically appears (so they don’t need to enter anything), and they can just continue tabbing through? It can NOT be done such that if they put the focus back into that field at a later time that the value will be updated (overwriting the actual time the call was made). It needs to pop up once the first time they enter the field and then stay that value forever unless they manually modify it. If you have alternative ideas for accomplishing the same thing, I’m all ears. If this can only be done with VBA, I would greatly appreciate someone providing the code with an explanation of how to implement it. Any help at all appreciated though!

(Bonus Question: Why the **** when you’re entering new fields into an Access table, does it shoot the cursor back to the first column after entry? It’s incredibly annoying. Any work-around?)

Many thanks,
    Chris

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    The only way I know to handle this would be to use VBA. You can add some VBA to an "AfterUpdate' event of the control. You would need an event handler for each field you want a time stamp.