eduardolm is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Question How to create a subform related to a form for products

Hi all....

I'm kinda new to access and I'm writing a database for managing stocks and products.
    I want to create a form to input sub-parts that will later compose the full product. These parts are also composed by different types of raw materials and sub-parts.

What I have:

1 - A raw materials table (everything the company uses)
    2 - A simple form for entering the sub-parts.

What I need:

1 - To modify this form by including a subform that can allow me to create new (sub-parts 1) records and at the same time select the raw materials and even other sub-parts (and their quantities) that will be used for manufacturing the (sub-part 1).

I'm having trouble trying to set it up by myself... Can anyone please help me on that???

Thanks in advance.

PS: Please help me with a complete step-by-step procedure 'cause I know a little vba and I'm still a rookie on access.

Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Your scenario is somewhat confusing, mainly because you're using the name 'sub-parts' for what appear to be different components used in different points in the manufacturing. Just to be clear would the scheme be

Products
    |
    Subpart1s
    |
    Raw Materials & Subpart2s

where Raw Materials and Subpart2s both being used to make up Subpart1s, which in turn are used to make up Products?

Or would it be

Products
    |
    Subpart1s
    |
    Subpart2s
    |
    Raw Materials

where Raw Materials are used to make up Subpart2s, then Subpart2s make up Subpart1s, which in turn are used to make up Products?

Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Thank you for the reply.... Let's try to make my scenario easier to understand...