Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    pdevito3 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    35

    Keep Frozen Panes on a Table Frozen After a Data Import. Freeze More Permanently

    Hi,


    I have a form in my database that has a table in it. I want this table to have a column/field stay frozen during operation (easy enough, highlight the column > right-click > freeze pane). However, data is frequently imported into this table and once the table is edited (add data for example) the column unfreezes. I donít want my end-user to have to re-freeze the column after each data import. Is there a way to make this column stay frozen until someone goes in and manually unfreezes it?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,611
    Are you saying the column in form unfreezes after import?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    pdevito3 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    35
    Correct. The form is just a table that I dragged into it and a couple of buttons for menu navigation. When data is imported (from excel with the append to table option) into the table that I have in my database (also on this form), the column I had frozen unfreezes.

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,611
    Think you will then have to use a form in Continuous or Datasheet view as subform container object instead of table.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    pdevito3 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    35
    Too far down the line to go back and do that. No problem. Thanks for the input
    Last edited by pdevito3; 10-24-2013 at 02:51 PM. Reason: Misspell

  6. #6
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    So within the 15 minutes it took June to respond there has been an irreversible evolution?

  7. #7
    pdevito3 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    35
    I'm debugging a finished database...

  8. #8
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,611
    Doesn't seem like too difficult a design change.

    Of course, I could be wrong about the import not impacting form as subform object.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  9. #9
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    I am not seeing any way to avoid a sub form and subform container. Additionally, I can't imagine how creating a subform would be problematic while debugging a DB

  10. #10
    pdevito3 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    35
    There's a major macro running with the table and I don't have a timeframe to recode it.

  11. #11
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,611
    A Data Macro? I expect it would still run if the subform uses a form bound to the table. But I am not very familiar with macros, especially Data Macros.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  12. #12
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    Bummer.......

  13. #13
    pdevito3 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    35
    Sorry, I meant vba. I could go change the table references, but no time

  14. #14
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,863
    Quote Originally Posted by pdevito3 View Post
    Sorry, I meant vba. I could go change the table references, but no time
    In that case, I want my 10 minutes back.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. New design and frozen by confusion
    By grussell in forum Access
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-03-2013, 12:32 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2012, 06:36 AM
  3. Freeze or Lock data after querried
    By Dannat in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-25-2012, 10:30 PM
  4. Freeze panes in reports
    By Jamy in forum Reports
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-02-2012, 03:19 PM
  5. Taskbar panes
    By pkstormy in forum Code Repository
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 01:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums