Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    bsc0617 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    13

    Print to Default Printer


    I have an Access 2007 split database. The users have a local copy of the front end on their desktop. The users are located in various buildings and cities. Whenever they print a form (which opens a report), it prints to the printer that I used during development. How can I change it to print to their default printer. I have googled, read and tried to follow the code provided in several posts. I am not very experienced in VBA, so I need lots of detail or the simplest method possible. Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    Check in Page Setup on the Page tab.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    Sometimes I use VBA to print on a common printer using the printer's name. You might want to check there too and verify you did not hard code a specific printer. Your VBA to print a report to a User's default printer should look like this.

    DoCmd.OpenReport "rptSampleReport", acViewNormal

  4. #4
    bsc0617 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    13
    Page setup is only going to list printers that I have access to. How will this help the user's local copy?

  5. #5
    bsc0617 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    13
    I cannot find anywhere where the printer is hard coded. It defaults to the application printer, which is the printer I used during development. Since the print button goes directly to the printer, the user does not have an option to change the printer. The users are in various locations and cities, and have access to different printers. I was hoping I could include some code on the cmdPrintRecord that would select the default printer instead of the application printer.

  6. #6
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    Quote Originally Posted by bsc0617 View Post
    Page setup is only going to list printers that I have access to. How will this help the user's local copy?
    You didn't look, did you? There's a setting for default or specific; you want to make sure it's on default.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  7. #7
    bsc0617 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    13
    You are right. I did not look. Thought I knew what I was talking about. How silly of me. Read your post last night and couldn't wait to get to work to try it. You are a genius. I have been struggling with this for days. I have googled, read and tried to dicipher and modify lots and lots of good code from numerous posts and examples, but haven't been very successful. Just learning VBA - as I go. Thanks a million!!!!

  8. #8
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,521
    Happy to help!
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Select Default Printer
    By pkstormy in forum Code Repository
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-10-2015, 09:26 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-18-2013, 04:03 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-12-2013, 05:38 PM
  4. Trying to Change Default printer
    By sims.anderson2010 in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2012, 08:07 AM
  5. Can docmd.openreport print X copies on Y printer?
    By Coolpapabell in forum Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-02-2009, 08:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums