Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    solid7 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Database Newbie - Need Some "Get Up to Speed Quickly" Advice

Hello, everyone. This is a nice forum, and I've not had great luck asking questions elsewhere, so I'm going to give it a try here.

Just a bit of background - I am not a programmer, and I will not be using databases professionally. A project has come up that captured my attention, and it's a hobby that interests me, so I want to learn something new.

My database will be a sports (specifically soccer) statistics database. Currently, I have 10 tables, representing 10 seasons worth of statistics. Now, I have a huge number of statistics, but I can start with a simple database, and expand on it. I'm having the most trouble figuring out how to make the data relational across this range of years.

First, what I want to do:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Master_Table.jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	48.0 KB 
ID:	13973

What I actually have: (this represents one a single year - I have 10 individual tables)

Player | Club | Apps | Goals

------------------------------------------------------
    Player_Name | club_1 | x | x

I have been reading up on relational database design, and normalization. While I understand, for the most part, what I guess eludes me, as such a stark newbie, is the issue of the seasons. For some reason, I keep getting hung up on this.

I think I need some tables that look like this:

Player
    ------
    Name
    DOB
    Height
    Weight

Position
    -------
    Striker
    Goal Keeper
    Center Mid
    Fullback
    Etc

Season
    -------
    2005-06
    2006-07
    Etc

Team
    -----
    Club Name

Statistics
    ---------
    Goals Scored
    Yellow Cards
    Red Cards
    Etc

I'm also guessing that there needs to be some other ID (I guess this is a surrogate key?) for the Player name, and some players could potentially have the same name.