Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    hrenee is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    41

    Google Search Terms Needed

    I am positive that the answer I'm looking for is in some sort of tutorial somewhere but I don't know what to search for.

    I would like to run a report (I think) that gives me all the items for a specific cost center.

    I have a tblCostCenter which has the 10 or so cost centers listed. It's in a one to many relationship with the CostCenter field in tblCorporateFixedAssets.



    I want to be able to have a pretty report where the person chooses the cost center from tblCostCenter and then it returns all the assets assigned to that cost center.

    I know I can run a qry on each and every cost center and thus a report from that, but I dont' want to do that, I want something (maybe it isn't a report. . . ) to open, ask you to choose which cost center and then voila, all the assets.


    So if this isn't a report, what is it? And what should I search for to find my answer. I've tried data from different tables and things like that but nothing I've found involves a drop down choice from a different table.

    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    alansidman's Avatar
    alansidman is offline Life @ 7100'
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs
    Posts
    2,442
    Look at using a search form. Look at this tutorial

    http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/f...earchform.html


    then make your search box a combo box using this video as a guide

    http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/f...combobox1.html

  3. #3
    Dal Jeanis is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    1,742
    You could do this a dozen ways. For example, a form might have a dropdown where you can choose the cost center, and a continuous form subform could display the detail items for that cost center.

    Or if you want it prettier, then the same dropdown could set a global variable or a tempvar, and then the user could click a button to view the report. Lots of ways to do what you want.

  4. #4
    hrenee is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    41
    Thank you both! I knew it could be done a million ways but when you dont' know the questions to ask, it's hard to find answers. Thanks again. I'll get right on it.

  5. #5
    Dal Jeanis is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    1,742
    We hear ya. Good hunting!

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-07-2013, 11:14 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-16-2012, 01:30 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-29-2012, 01:32 PM
  4. Bold search terms in Query result for report
    By NewbieInCT in forum Queries
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-25-2012, 11:37 AM
  5. Access Google Map?
    By dev82 in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2011, 09:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums