Silvera is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Question Combine FirstName and LastName fields in reports and forms as the full name

Combine "FirstName" and "LastName" fields as a Full Name in forms and reports. This probably very basic. I've been self-taught and dabbling in Database Programing since Mid '80 and probably have forgotten a lot of what I learned. I have a module where I previously recorded folks by their full name. As the number of folks has grown using 1st and last names will allow better sorting for reports and forms. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Ruegen is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    [FirstName] & " " & [Surname]

You can make a calculated field in a table in the expression properties using the above.

There are other ways of doing it too - you can make a query field do the same thing, however having it in the table already means you do it once only.

Note: because it is a calculated field you will not have the ability to edit that field on a form.

Basically you are saying concatenate FirstName field then put a space " " and join it to Surname.

I tend to name the field TableMergedName so that it doesn't get confusing later.

Red face Thank you for your prompt response!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ruegen View Post

You can make a calculated field in a table in the expression properties using the above.

There are other ways of doing it too - you can make a query field do the same thing, however having it in the table already means you do it once only.

Note: because it is a calculated field you will not have the ability to edit that field on a form.

Basically you are saying concatenate FirstName field then put a space " " and join it to Surname.

I tend to name the field TableMergedName so that it doesn't get confusing later.
    Thank you for your prompt response!!!

I'm have problems

-----