daniel_l89 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Basic Bridge Management System

I am working as an intern, completing an industry based project with an engineering firm. Successful completion of my project will serve as a possible incentive for employment when I graduate at the years end. I am currently a novice at Access, with some basic knowledge on database design. PLEASE HELP!

The division I am working in performs "level 2" condition inspections on Bridges, where each component (approx. 50 in total, eg. deck, guard rails, abutments etc.) is inspected and assessed in terms of their defects and given a condition rating. Each component has corresponding attribute data (eg. material, geometry, exposure class etc.) An overall condition rating is then assigned to the bridge based on the weighted condition of individual components. I would like the system to have the following basic features:

- Record the component attributes and conditions within the structure.
    - Record and score the bridge based on Deterioration attributes of the bridge (eg. environmental/locational data: high traffic volume, high exposure to salt etc.)
    - Produce an overall weighted bridge condition score, based on component and environmental/locational conditions.
    - Prioritise maintenance works across a number of bridges.
    - Ability to store photographs, technical drawings and other electronic documents on each bridge.

I have started creating tables and filling in forms, here's an outline of my database design tables and a few fields:

BridgeOverview:
    -BridgeID (autonumber), BridgeName, City, Suburb, AssetOwner etc. I would like this to be a basic overview of all of the bridge inventory.

ComponentModule: