Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SaraBanu is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3

    Add a blank field through a make table Query

    Hello,

    I'd like to know how to add a blank filed (memo), called "comments" that is not pulled in from any existing table, in an existing maketable query which is getting it's fields from different linked tables , so that the destination table that comes out of this query, has all those data along with an extra column for me to add comments.



    Thanks,

    Sara.

  2. #2
    JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,904
    Can't you just add a field like this:
    Code:
    Comments:""
    Is the issue that it is not coming out as a Memo field, but rather a Text field?

    The one thing about Make Table Queries, is that without some somewhat complex VBA code, it can be difficult to control the data types of formats of the fields it is creating. Access is left to its own devices to try to "figure it out" on its own. Because of this, I approve these problems a little differently. I will set up a blank table that already has all the fields I need, with the right data-types and formats, and then use an Append Query instead to write data to this existing table. So it accomplishes the same goal, but allows you to have more control over the matter without having to use a bunch of VBA.

  3. #3
    SaraBanu is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thank you Joe, guess I need to go with an "apend" query instead of a "make table" one. No issues with the format, I just needed to add a blank column to my final table (which is made up of several differnt tables ), thought I could add this blank field in the same "make table" query that I am using for building up my final table.

  4. #4
    JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,904
    If you are doing a Make Table query, and simply just need to add a blank field that does not exist in the source table, you should be able to do that within your Make Table query using the suggestion I first posted. The fields you are creating in your new table do not need to all come from another table. You can use calculated fields. So you should just be able to add the calculated field in your Make Table query like I showed you:
    Code:
    Comments:""
    And it should show up in the table you are creating.

  5. #5
    SaraBanu is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Ahh Thanks joe! Sorry I'm too much of a access novice. It worked. I appreciate your help.

  6. #6
    JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,904
    No need to apologize! Glad you got it worked out!

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-19-2012, 10:46 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 03:06 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-06-2011, 12:34 PM
  4. Field changes in Make table query
    By asherbear in forum Queries
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-29-2010, 01:35 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 12:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums