Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    justgeig is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    45

    Initial Parameter Value?

    Is it possible to have an initial value be present in a query with a parameter dialog box? We have a query set up to find customers but in the parameter you have to type *customer name* to do a successful find. I did not set up this parameter and don't really know much about Access. I just know that I am getting a lot of complaints with how it is wasting time because no one can remember to type in the asterisks. Any help would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Can you post the query SQL?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  3. #3
    justgeig is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by RuralGuy View Post
    Can you post the query SQL?
    I will...how do i do that :-p Like I said, I know so little about Access it's pretty sad

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    OPen the query in design mode and go to SQL view and copy and paste into a post.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  5. #5
    justgeig is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    45
    SELECT [2006 Peoples Ads].Advertiser, [2006 Peoples Ads].Rec, [2006 Peoples Ads].[Issue Date], [2006 Peoples Ads].Page, [2006 Peoples Ads].Placement, [2006 Peoples Ads].[Ad Size], [2006 Peoples Ads].[Date Designed], [2006 Peoples Ads].[File Type], [2006 Peoples Ads].X, [2006 Peoples Ads].Expl, [2006 Peoples Ads].Comments, [2006 Peoples Ads].[Inv #], [2006 Peoples Ads].TS, [2006 Peoples Ads].[subject ind]
    FROM [2006 Peoples Ads]
    WHERE ((([2006 Peoples Ads].[Issue Date])=Date()+(14-((Date()-#12/3/2009#) Mod 14))))
    ORDER BY [2006 Peoples Ads].Advertiser, [2006 Peoples Ads].X, [2006 Peoples Ads].Advertiser;

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    THis does not look like the query that uses the *Customer Name* you mentioned in the first post.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  7. #7
    justgeig is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    45
    I don't know who made the query but what I was referring to was that within the design view, there is a field that is named "Customer Name" and to do a search, we used to have to type in this ... Like "*Bob's Repair*" ... and then every time we would search for ads that a company has run, we had to go into design view and change the name.

    Now, there is a parameter that under the customer name that is like this ... Like [Who are you looking for?] and so now when we enter into that query, a dialog box pops up and asks us "Who are you looking for?" and then we have to type *name of the customer we are looking for*. The question is...how can we have it so that we don't need to include the asterisks every time we search for a different company?

    Thank you for being patient with me and my ignorance

  8. #8
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows XP Access 2002
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Change that parameter from:
    Like [Who are you looking for?]
    ...to:
    Like *[Who are you looking for?]*
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with parameter quey
    By toptech in forum Queries
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-22-2009, 05:20 PM
  2. Can you use a parameter in findrecord?
    By P5C768 in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 04:36 AM
  3. Criteria Parameter
    By djwasim in forum Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-04-2009, 08:22 AM
  4. Enter Parameter Value
    By plesser in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-08-2008, 10:27 AM
  5. Date Parameter
    By shakira in forum Queries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-09-2006, 12:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums