benks is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Prefill records to a subform

Hey guys,

I am new to coding in VBA and need a bit of help. I use the following code below in my main form to prefill a text box (Prior1Text which is also in the main form) for new records to save a bit of time for entry. What I would like to do is this exact same thing, but it would prefill a text box in my subform. My subform control is called Prior1form and the text box I am looking to fill is called Text720 which would fill from field P1S1Description. This field is within the table that is related to the subform. I have tried using the same basic code in the subform, and while it works when it is just the subform open as a normal form, when it is embedded in as a subform it no longer works. Thanks for any and all help.

Code:
    Private Sub Form_BeforeInsert(Cancel As Integer)
        With Me.RecordsetClone
        If .RecordCount > 0 Then
        .MoveLast
        Me.Prior1Text = !P1Text
        End If
        End With
    End Sub

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003