AEL Ventures is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Question Are there MS Access equivalents to "PostEvent" and "PostFunction" in PowerBuilder?

Greetings! I am a seasoned PowerBuilder developer now migrating to MS Access as quickly as possible due to new development opportunities. A very powerful and useful feature in PB is support for "PostEvent" and "PostFunction" which allowed another event or function to be queued and fired after the current script was completed.

This is a different ability than simply calling a function as the last action in the current script. It ensures the current script is completed before the next event or function is executed. This has proven to be an extremely valuable ability when used strategically and I'm hopeful that similar functionality can be achieved in Access.

I have searched for quite some time with a wide variety of keywords but not found anything encouraging. Can this be done in any fashion in Access, either natively or perhaps with an API call?

RayMilhon is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Not Exactly. However Access does have the Beforeupdate and AfterUpdate Events. these can be called at different levels. so if a form is updated or a single control is updated these Events are called.

Thanks for that tip! I'm looking at broader usage and not related to forms or database updates directly but really just the ability to queue a "future" event at any time when the current script concludes.

RayMilhon is offline VIP
    I am not a power builder user so am unfamiliar with what you mean by current script. It sounds similar to an access Macro which performs a number of Events in sequence and can be set up to run when Access is loaded (Autoexec) Or in response to specific events within your Database. You might want to look at Macros and VBA Functions that can also be called from a macro or query.