Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    dniezby is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    183

    Member name in form header

    There was a form i saw in a sample database that would display a members name as i typed it into a form. I opened it up and put the code in my program but it doesnt work.



    How do i do that? i want the member name and id to be displayed on my form as a user enters it.

    In the sample it appeared to be a label field and the caption had something with Nz in it????

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,902
    Where did you put the code? Is it a function? If you have the sample database, follow the design used and apply to your db. What is in the textbox event properties?

    Here is tutorial for creating the 'find as you type' textbox http://allenbrowne.com/AppFindAsUType.html

    Why not use a combobox?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    dniezby is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    183
    Okay, solved this issue too.

    It's a decorative feature on my form so the name displays on the top of the form. Just makes for easier navigation of the form and aesthetics.

    Created a Textbox
    DATA tab =

    • ENABLED: YES
    • LOCKED:YES
    • CONTROL SOURCE: Nz([fullname],"Undefined")


    That's it!

    Now when someone is working with the form and they type in Last and first name, it displays on the top of my form. You must note, that I already have a calculated field to create the fullname. If you want to add more field results to this you'd need to put them in parentheses.

    For example, say I want the member ID to show up too.
    Code:
    Nz( ( [fullname]&","&[Member_id]),"Undefined")
    By enclosing those in parentheses, it processes those fields first before moving on to the "Undefined"

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Form Header Formatting
    By SammyH in forum Forms
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-25-2013, 10:14 PM
  2. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-25-2011, 08:17 AM
  3. Form Header Formatting
    By tylerg11 in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 02:05 PM
  4. Name in form header
    By jmanis in forum Forms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 06:09 PM
  5. Pretty Form Header - What is it?
    By trb5016 in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-21-2010, 08:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums