dehdahdoh is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Data Type Mismatch in Criteria Expression

I am not new to using databases however I am new to fixing or managing them. We have databases that are periodically reset. The reason being that we produce publications for our customers and each time we produce those publications we have a new set of entries.

I reset a particular database, input new data, run a couple of reports. Yesterday when I went to run a report based on a query and sub-form I got a dialog box with an error; "Data Type Mismatch in Criteria Expression". We have five tables that are linked via relationships. The relationships are correct between these five tables. I have spent about 12 hours looking for an answer in the database and on line. Part of my problem, I have no idea or knowledge of code so most of the answers were too far above my head.

I have compared the table fields to make sure that they are all the same, I have gone into the properties for each table and line to make sure all is set up correctly. I have no idea what is left to look at. I deleted the relationships and re-joined the tables and have discovered two that I cannot join if I want to maintain referential integrity. They are joined on the order field. I have attached snips of each of the tables if that would help.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Capture-Order Table.jpg   Capture-Dog Table.JPG  

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Look at the query that the report is based on. That error message seems to imply an issue with the Criteria in your query. The "data mismatch" usually implies that you are comparing things of different data types, i.e. if you data field was numeric and your criteria was something like ="A". Sometimes, null or blank field values for certain records can cause issues.