Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    mike02 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    245

    linking the back end to the front end


    Hey, my databse is split. I have it linked properly on my pc, however, it wont run properly on other pcs as it tries to find the data (Backend) in my PC. how can I set it up to go to the folder without using my PC. All PCs will have a common folder set up. DropBox........Company......Database.......Company Back End. Is there a way to skip going to my pc, but start at the drop box folder ? Thanks,

  2. #2
    redbull's Avatar
    redbull is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    480
    Need a little more information.

    The path you are using, its a dropbox folder... where is this folder located on everyone machine, is it under their user profile?



    DoCmd.TransferDatabase acLink, "Microsoft Access", Environ("userprofile") & "\My Documents\MyApp\MyApp.mdb", acTable, "tblCred", "tblCred"

    the code above is going to this... C:\Users\CURRENTUSERONMACHINE\ then \My docs etc etc... so that means, who ever is signed into the computer, it will look into the username of that person... it also helps with the differences between xp and windows 7 because their file system is a little bit different.




    The code I use to make environ work in access is this.

    Code:
    Public Function Environ(username)
    On Error GoTo Err_Environ
    
    
    Environ = VBA.Environ(username)
    
    
    Exit_Environ:
    Exit Function
    
    
    Err_Environ:
    MsgBox Err.Number & " - " & Err.Description
    Resume Exit_Environ
    
    
    End Function
    and
    Code:
    Public Function GetUser()
    GetUser = Environ("USERNAME")
    End Function
    Hopfully this helps

  3. #3
    redbull's Avatar
    redbull is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    480
    And I just read the title of your post... are you trying to link FROM the back end TO the front end?

    Normally, you have the front ends link to the back end... because front ends can be anywhere, while the back end is pretty stationary.

  4. #4
    mike02 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    245
    thanks for the reply! I am trying to link my front end to the back end. The bank end is in the dropbox file location. I have been using the ribbon to link it. so i click external data, linked table manager etc. select all tables, selct always promt. then select location. then i access the folder. All users of the database will have the same way of accessing the database. It is in a network folder. We use drop box. so under each persons PC, it will be in: USER - Dropbox - CompanyName(Folder) - Database(Folder) - Company Back End.accdb

  5. #5
    amrut is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    614
    You have mentioned that the database is in the network folder. The back end in case of a split database is a single file to which all the front ends are linked.If you link the front end on your PC to this database in a network folder and replace the front end on other PCs with this copy of front end, you do not have to link them again.In the navigation pane, if you hover mouse over a table name, the path to the linked table is displayed.Check the path on your PC.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Opening a back-end database exclusively from front-end
    By TheChairman in forum Database Design
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-06-2012, 07:58 AM
  2. Front end link to back end
    By Melo in forum Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-21-2011, 09:25 PM
  3. Different passwords on front-end & back-end?
    By Delta223 in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2011, 09:25 AM
  4. auto link between front db and back db
    By ahmed in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2010, 07:10 AM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-15-2010, 10:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums