Results 1 to 2 of 2

dynamic combo boxes

  1. #1
    brad is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4

    dynamic combo boxes

    I have built a report where the value selected in the first combo box fillters the choices available in the 2nd combo box. This all works fine with the "requery" VBA coding, but I have one problem. When I select the value in the 2nd combo box (from all the values) that specific record isn't pulled. All the records for the combo box values are pulled.



    My combo boxes are 1.) State and 2.) School

    The user chooses the state in cbo 1 and based on the value gets a set of schools to choose from in cbo 2.

    Please help.

    Brad

  2. #2
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    8,523
    This is typically referred to as "cascading" combo boxes. I don't know how well they will work in a report. I use them on forms.

    See this example: http://www.baldyweb.com/CascadingCombo.htm
    HTH
    -----
    Steve
    --------------------------------
    "Veni, Vidi, Velcro"
    (I came; I saw; I stuck around.)

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-04-2014, 10:45 AM
  2. Dynamic combo box
    By Accessuser67 in forum Forms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-10-2013, 03:23 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-26-2012, 07:23 AM
  4. Dynamic Cascading Combo Box
    By Userdd in forum Forms
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-24-2011, 07:37 PM
  5. Dynamic Check Boxes values from table
    By ktmjamal in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-21-2011, 07:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums