slarra is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

SELECT FROM IN - how to concatenate string specifying external DB name?

Access uber-noob here. Seriously - I'm just getting started with Access (this is my first database project, but I'm the most "qualified" guy in my office to take on this task). I can barely spell SQL, and yet I'm now trying to put together a series of queries to pull about a dozen tables' worth of data from 100+ little databases into one big database - and I'm really close to pulling this off! This is a one-shot deal, so I don't need an elegant or even particularly efficient solution here.

To make those records unique in the big database, I need to add a Unit (i.e. Office) Identifier to each record, since they will otherwise have duplicate values. I've got that part figured out, and I've even managed to set-up a combobox where I select the Unit ID from a list (and I'll repeat that process 100+ times as I connect to those external, individual databases and extract their records to put into the big database). And, I have written a teeny VBA module to execute a series of SQL queries to extract those records, add and populate the Unit ID field, and then push those records to the corresponding tables in the big database. But I need help to get one of those queries tuned-up so that it will insert the selected Unit ID into the filename when I refer to its external (individual) database.

So... In SQL for Access, how can I concatenate a string that specifies the path (fixed) and filename (corresponding to my selection of Unit ID via combobox from a list) for the external database that I want to extract records from using a SELECT FROM IN command?

Example:

External database is named xxyyy.mdb, where xxyyy is a Unit ID code
    The path to xxyyy.mdb is C:\MyDatafiles\
    Via a combobox selection in an objected named cbox0 on Form1, I have selected xxyyy from a table listing Unit IDs