d_blan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Relationships, Enforce Referential Integrity, Cascade Update Related Fields

Hey there, I'm very new to Access and have only been at it for a few days now.

I'm doing a little Access Project for my class; editing a database of the members of a hypothetical school. I encountered a step where I had to create a one-to-many relationship between the school clubs table and the teachers table, and check off the "enforce referential integrity" and "cascade updates to related fields" options.

I tried to investigate myself but found no changes from before and after I made the relationship. Can someone explain to me what the options "enforce referential integrity" and "cascade updates to related fields" do?

I did the step, but I did it completely blind without understanding what I did.

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL

dniezby is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by d_blan View Post
    Hey there, I'm very new to Access and have only been at it for a few days now.

I'm doing a little Access Project for my class; editing a database of the members of a hypothetical school. I encountered a step where I had to create a one-to-many relationship between the school clubs table and the teachers table, and check off the "enforce referential integrity" and "cascade updates to related fields" options.

I tried to investigate myself but found no changes from before and after I made the relationship. Can someone explain to me what the options "enforce referential integrity" and "cascade updates to related fields" do?

I did the step, but I did it completely blind without understanding what I did.