accessbeginner12 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Complex Expressions on Form Too Slow - Any Better Way?

Hi,

I'm building out a form that will eventually contain 150 or so calculations against a query with 2M+ records. The calculations are primarily Average IIfs and Count IIfs with multiple criteria. My problem is that I'm not even 1/4 finished with building out the expressions and already the sheet takes a really long time to finish calculating (5-10 minutes). My main issue is that it's hard to confirm that the expressions actually work. I've commented out a lot of them so they're not actually calculating but that is a bit of a pain.

I'm wondering if there is a different/better way to get to my desired end state of a summary table that contains all the desired calculations. This is my first time using Access and I had to start because Excel could not accomodate the number of records I have so I figure there could very well be a better way. A couple sample expressions are listed below. The summary table has 13 different metrics as the rows and 12 different categories as the columns.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated, or even just confirmation that this is the only way to do it would be great too. If you see something I can be doing better with my sytax, improvements would be much appreciated as well.

Thanks!
    Kevin

=Count(IIf([CAT] In ("F","G","H","I","J","K") And [TYP]="AF",1))/Count(IIf([TYP]="AF",1))
    =Count(IIf([CAT] In ("F","G","H","I","J","K") And [TYP] In ("AF","DE","SR","KR","OP","RT"),1))/Count(IIf([TYP] In ("AF","DE","SR","KR","OP","RT"),1))
    =Count(IIf([SCORE]="R" And [TYP] In ("AF","DE","SR","KR","OP","RT"),1))

I've only tested out the Average IIfs, I have not actually built them out yet

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Not sure this will help with speed but each of your IIf expressions does not have the value if False. Instead of Count try Sum

Sum(IIf([TYP]="AF",1,0))