Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    imsants is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Copying the Current Record into a new Record (with designated new primary key) CONT..

Hi, I have a basic database since I am new to coding but I need help with this very same issue posted:

https://www.accessforums.net/forms/c...ted-27599.html

I am using her code, and got everything working, but I do have subforms, how can I implement what was stated here:
    http://www.allenbrowne.com/ser-57.html
    In with her code?

So basically, I have a form with 3 subforms. Please excuse my lack of Access terminology, but I have the one table which is the main data on the form with a primary key that is not an autonumber, it's designated. Which the code in the first link works. Then I have 3 other subforms, on the same form, whose data/tables have referential integrity to the first table main recordsource to the form (not cascading: not sure if necessary). The 3 other tables/subforms have autonumbers generated. This is where I get lost, how do I include something like the lngID in the one example to generate a new autonumber to just the 3 subforms, yet be able to designate an ID on the main form itself.

Also, in the link reference in her question:
    https://www.accessforums.net/access/...ord-15269.html
    He/She talks about making a form/pop up it seems to ask the user to select an ID Number previously known to copy the record from. This is something that I would like to implement but not sure how to link that to the code either.

Thank you in advance, I hope I did this right, first time on a forum.
    Mars

pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Welcome! Not sure where you're stuck. The general concept is to create the new main record, get the ID that was created for it, then use that ID to create the new child records. If yours is designated, you should be able to grab it. Perhaps seeing your existing code will clarify matters.