Results 1 to 3 of 3

combo box selection does not update correctly

  1. #1
    mrtinmalaysia is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2

    combo box selection does not update correctly

    Hi, i am fairly new to access and have a problem, i created a fill-in form for new workers and in this form there are all the necessary fields, now when i choose of 3 new created combo boxes related to fields like nationality, sector etc., i can choose the selection of the whole 600+ country names i have already keyed in in the table workers, many country names are repeating, that's why so many (600+), after clicking on save record, i check the workers table and instead of the chosen country name there appears a 3-digit number, why does this happen ??? Also 2 other newly added combo boxes with sector and permit company does not correctly update, but instead shows in the workers table again a number instead of the chosen name. Please, help me, as i can't figure out what i am doing wrong or missing out.

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    48,401
    Do you have lookups set in tables? Review: http://access.mvps.org/access/lookupfields.htm

    Apparently, you are saving the number id and not the text info, which is the correct thing to do if you have the number id field as primary key. Maybe this will help you http://datapigtechnologies.com/flash...combobox3.html
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    mrtinmalaysia is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Do you have lookups set in tables? Review: http://access.mvps.org/access/lookupfields.htm

    Apparently, you are saving the number id and not the text info, which is the correct thing to do if you have the number id field as primary key. Maybe this will help you http://datapigtechnologies.com/flash...combobox3.html
    Thank you, your tip helped me very much. I solved it with your suggestion.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2012, 09:12 AM
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-10-2012, 06:37 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2012, 10:29 AM
  4. combo box selection to update form
    By sartan2002 in forum Forms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-03-2012, 01:47 PM
  5. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 01:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums