Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    prag is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13

    Exclamation Query to run from a FORM VERY URGENT

    I have created a query combinig three different tables. The form i have created uses two sub forms. Now my problem is I need to use the same form to run the query by inputing criteria through the form. And it has to be on any field. Oh and my supervisor wants the results to be displayed in the same form. Is there an easy way to do this. I have no VB expereince. Can anyone help me.

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    I'm afraid your description of your problem is too broad. Can you break your problem down into pieces and describe a piece and we'll see if we can offer some suggestions.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  3. #3
    prag is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    So basically what I need to do is Run a Query directly From a Form by inputing the criterias in that same form. And the results should display in a form as well. Hope this helps. This is all the instruction that I also got.

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Is this for a school project as opposed to some real life situation?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  5. #5
    prag is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    This is actually a real life project. I got the queries all done, but I have never used Forms to input criteria into a query.

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    The query builder can help you reference a control on a form for input if you like.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  7. #7
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    I find you description of your problem too broad. What sort of criteria do you need to input? Can you create a button that requeries the form?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  8. #8
    prag is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    Okey lets say the query shows 10 differen fields. I need to be able to put criteria in any of those fields or all of them and then produce the output.

  9. #9
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    So you want to create a search form for most (all??) of the fields in a table?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  10. #10
    prag is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    Well sort of, but it has to be from the query not the table. Is there a way to do that?

  11. #11
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Have you figured out how you want to display the records yet? Are you going to have a SubForm on your form with the results of your query?
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  12. #12
    prag is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    Well my boss wants a Form to pop out displaying the output but I can settle with a subform too for now

  13. #13
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    You can have a form "pop out" if you want. You get a Datasheet view when you run a query from code. Try creating a botton that runs your query and see what happens.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  14. #14
    prag is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    I guess I'll do the QBF thing with datasheet poping out. He is not quite happy with as he's saying it is not professional looking, but it is acceptable atleast for now. Thanks for your help. You showed me the right way to go about it.

  15. #15
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    You're welcome and good luck with the project.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Query and form help
    By KevinH in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2009, 08:10 AM
  2. Database size - pls help urgent!!
    By TTDD in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 02:39 PM
  3. Concatenation Urgent Help
    By Shoaib in forum Queries
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2009, 11:02 PM
  4. Basic question, urgent help needed.
    By fishnu in forum Access
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-18-2009, 01:39 PM
  5. I need help! Urgent! :(
    By Suzan in forum Database Design
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2006, 11:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums