KDTom is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Question Checkbox sets current date in textbox - how to?

I'm using Access 2007. I have a checkbox ("Mailed") on a form; on that same form I have a textbox ("MailedDate"). On click, I'd like the textbox to display the current date. Seems as though it should be easy, but I'm a novice. Any direction would be appreciated. Thanks!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Is the checkbox bound to field? Why have a checkbox and date fields? If there is a date in the field then you know item was mailed. Check field is redundant.

Just enter date in the date field or have a button coded to enter date into the field.
    Me.datefield = Date()
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

KDTom is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Thanks, June7! I told you I was a novice! I wanted the button to supply the date without having to use a date picker or click in the textbox; just thought I'd click and go on but perhaps I'm not looking at things from the right perspective. I'd like to open the form on another day and see that an item was mailed on a certain day. Thanks for your help.

June7 is offline VIP
    Two fields is redundant but a command button to populate box with current date is reasonable.

Can also set the textbox DefaultValue property to Date() and will populate for new record.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

KDTom is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007