charaia is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Where to begin?

I am a VB6 programmer who haven't coded for many many years and kindo rusted. I would like to begin using VBA 2010 for simple utility programs like reading a text file, writing out to a text file (the stuff we can also do in text editors). Where can I find good code examples? Can you recommend some book/tutorials that helps me build coding in VBA and recall VB6 syntax etc.

thank you,

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    I don't know any books but I am sure they are available. This one looks interesting: Access™ 2007 Programming by Example with VBA, XML, and ASP by Julitta Korol, Wordware Publishing, Inc.

Most of what I have learned has come from a mentor, Help files, or off the web. Like http://www.databasedev.co.uk/text_files.html
    Last edited by June7; 11-16-2012 at 01:39 PM.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL

Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    The databasedev and functionx sites were particularly helpful when I was making the move from VB6 to Access/VBA, and Crystal Long's MVP site continues to be useful, after 12 years of working in Access!

But you need to be aware of a couple of things:

• While VB6 and Access VBA are both derived from a common ancestor (QuickBasic4.5), they are not the same language! Functions and Properties in one language are absent from the other language! And even more confusing, Functions and Properties present in both languages do not necessarily do the same thing and do not necessarily utilize the same syntax!