MarkVenes is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Question How do you get a form to post data from a text box to a specific record in a table

OK I am a newbie, I am learning as I go and I more the most part I have been able to find my answers on the net within 2 to 3 hours. This one is stumping me.

I have time card form that when I have an employee that wants to log an event a form that I created called PINForm pops up and asks for their pin prior to performing the action that the button on the TimeCardForm is designed to do. The problem I am having is that the data entered into the PINForm only updates the first record in the Employees table. I have a combo bod that I use for the employee to find their record first, but the data still gets entered into the first record of the Employees talble no matter who is selected from the combo box on the TimeCardForm. Here is my code so far.

Whats the idea: In my head I have the program checking the pin number against a preset pin number in the "Employees" table. The TimeCardForm has its Record Source as the "Emloyees" table. The PINForm has it's Record Source as the "Employees" table as well.

This is where the form is called from to check the PIN number (right now since I am in testing phase I am not allowing it to complete it's function)

- From the TimeCardForm -

Private Sub StartNew_Click()
    Dim dbs As Database
    Dim UserName As String
    Dim EmpID As Long
    Dim CurDate As Date
    Dim PIN As String
    Dim PauseTime As Variant
    Dim start As Variant

Set dbs = CurrentDb

' A value of 1 indicates that a time card has been initiated
    If ([TimeCardStarted] = "1") Then
    ' Checks to see if the time card is for todays date
    If ([TimeCardDate] = Date) Then
    ' When there is a time card started tells the employee what to do
    MsgBox "You have already started a Time-Card for today!", , "Please Check Your Selection and Try Again"
    ' Prevents the sub from adding a new time card