AlexSalvadori is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Fields of Data! A best practice question

First up I should say this post is for discussion/venting purposes only, so please don't fret use too much time thinking up awesome solutions (unless you want to!)

Anyway, so I have been reconstructing a database for human resources. The one that came before me was barely functional and to be honest didn't make a lot of sense. Now, I am not a pro, I studied one module of access as a student and that was about two years ago, so I can't say for sure that it was wrong, but it just didn't sit right with me... It centered on the list of employees and their details (pretty common sense stuff) and apart from a few typos and duplicate fields this wasn't a big deal, but when you left that table you wandered into an entirely different logic.

The other tables were things like gas stations, coal stations, qualifications and training records (Should have been reduced to two, no?) and within each of these there wasn't a 'name' field, like for the name of each qualification, instead there was: a foreign Key for the employees; and then a long list of data fields each named after a qualification/gas station etc, with a true/false data type, and from that there were some poorly strung together forms which just allowed you to click some check boxes to say whether the employees had those qualifications/ had been to those stations.