03lances is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Question about a select query.

Hi all, I had a question that I really hope will be easy. Here is the deal, I am in the process of converting my personal financial data (just day to day household expenses) from the tables in word we have used since '05 into Access now that I am taking courses to learn how to use this software. Importing the data isnt a problem and I have made 2 queries that work great, one I can choose to list the businesses of my transactions and total up $$$ and the other query I can list a type to total them up (gas, groceries etc.) Both queries work great as long as I am only referring to one table.

Now keep in mind here I am new at this so please to flame me too hard,
    I have set up the database to give each month its own table and I made a "master table" if you will for the year with just two fields, month name and month ID. I made a matching ID field in each month table and set a default value (ie January table has it set at "1", Feb table default is "2" so every row in jan will have a 1, in feb will have a 2 etc.). I created a one to many relationship with the master table out to every month table linking the ID fields. My thinking was that the january row in the master table would point to every row in the january table and so forth.

I really want to just have 2 queries and be able to run it and point to a specific table and then list the business or item data for just that table, please help how can I get this to work? I really dont want to make 24 queries lol.

Oh ya I should mention that I have access 2010 64 bit and win 7 on my laptop I bring to class. The database I am referring to in this post is actually on my desktop which is running Vista and access 2007 if this matters.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit