DCarrollUSMC is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Exclamation Help with tables and relationships

I will try to give as much detail as possible. Please excuse my ignorance, I am a novice Access developer at best. I work for an IT/Networking company and we provide equipment to a local property management company for their apartments. I am creating an access database to handle our inventory. Currently, for this client, I have a table that has the following fields: Building Number (AutoNum), Address (Text), Key (Text), Equipment on-site (text), Equipment Location (Text), etc. I have a form that allows me to manipulate this table (add, delete records, filter by form, etc.). Currently, the field that I am most concerned with is the Equipment on-site field. As it is now, our equipment on site is just stored as text with a list of items contained in each record. I wish to have the equipment on - site field in my form and in my table reference to a separate table. I wish to do this so that I can add detailed records of which gear is in each building and how many of each item are there. Anyone have any ideas for where I should go next? I will be happy to provide any additional information if needed, just please let me know. I hope this will become a fairly detailed post on some forward progress that I should look into to achieve these results.

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    This is a basic inventory management application.

What you need:

A table that stores all your equipment, and the data related to those items (serial numbers, manufacturer, etc)
    A table that stores all your customers, and the data related to those clients (contact name, phone number, address, etc)
    A table that stores your basic order information and the data related to it (customerID from the customers table, start date, end date, contract number, etc)