450nick is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Some advise for a complete novice...!

Hi all!

Right, I've recently been trying to streamline some of the outdated labour intensive data entry worksheets used at my workplace and have had a lot of success using Excel to create mini-databases with automatic report generation in Word. I've got used to using lots of VBA and formulas but am now coming around to my last worksheet and it looks like I'm going to have to use Access....

The problem with using Access though is that I think its been at least 10 years since I've used it, and my knowledge of how it works has pretty much returned to zero. For this reason, I'm not even sure that Access can do what I need. So this post is really asking two things:

The first thing, is whether this will work...

The worksheet I'm trying to improve upon is called a HAZOP study, which is essentially a risk assessment and looks something like this:

As can be seen, it usually takes the form of a grid, driven first by guidewords on the left hand side. You start by entering a guideword and moving across to the next column where there is a parameter (or deviation in this picture). Under each parameter within a guideword, several causes are identified as risks, each with consequences, safeguards and finally actions to be taken (this can be more than one). Once this has been performed on each parameter within the guideword, you move on to the next guideword until there are no more. This then completes the HAZOP study for that particular node, and there are several nodes in each review (all of which need to be kept in the one database). Each node will also have some data attached to it (i.e name, drawing numbers used for the review, date, description etc.).