Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    tariq nawaz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    31

    built form on top of table use combo box to update value on form. dont update table

    i have a table called input and a "form" input made on top of that same table.
    when i input the data on the form it updates properly no issues.


    i have another table main. i update the vendor name using combo box from main.


    it works like that.
    SELECT main.[Vendor Number], main.[Vendor Name]
    FROM main;


    and i update the vendor name using control source =vendorname.column(1)


    i have even achieved the same thing using DlookUp .


    the problem is that it saves on the Form but the data from Dlookup or from comboBox updates for "Vendoe Nmae" is not saved in input table.


    hope i have explained the problem .




    i am novice user. and stuck very badly. a quick reply will be highly apreciated.


    Regards


    A learner

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,712
    It typically shouldn't be saved, but:

    BaldyWeb - Autofill
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    tariq nawaz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
    It typically shouldn't be saved, but:

    BaldyWeb - Autofill

    you are a star. thanks a lot. you have been so much help for me.

    thanks a lot once again.

  4. #4
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,712
    No problem!
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  5. #5
    tariq nawaz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    31
    i am using customer service template from microsoft and there are a lot of macro data. i know a bit about macro.
    they cant be changed to VB code.i tried a lot. how can we read a list of macro or i can edit in somehow to read it and change it somehow.
    or at least i can understand what the macro is doing step by step.

    regards

    A learner

  6. #6
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,712
    They can be changed to VBA. With the macro open in design view, click on the Office button, Save As, Save Object As, and select Module. It will create a module in the VBA editor named Converted Macro-YourMacroName. You can then use that code wherever is appropriate.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  7. #7
    tariq nawaz is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
    They can be changed to VBA. With the macro open in design view, click on the Office button, Save As, Save Object As, and select Module. It will create a module in the VBA editor named Converted Macro-YourMacroName. You can then use that code wherever is appropriate.
    thanks baldy it was a great help .
    i forgot to mention that i cannot change the macros which are in forms controls but finally managed to find a tab in database tools.

    Regards

    highly highly appreciated. this forum is my learning source for Access. where i was stuck you were great help and knowledge source for me.

    Highly appreciated.

    A learner

  8. #8
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,712
    Happy to help!
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-17-2012, 10:36 AM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-14-2012, 08:33 PM
  3. Use a form to Update a table
    By j2curtis64 in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 10:18 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-22-2010, 01:46 PM
  5. Combo box to update table in a form
    By TG_W in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2010, 01:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums