lumajosh is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Access 2010 filtering datagrid on a subform problem. Please help!

Hi,

I’m totally new to MS Access. I have what seems to be a pretty simple thing to accomplish – I need to apply a filter via a VBA call to a datagrid on a subform. I have a form, a list box and a subform with a datagrid on it. When a user selects one or more choices in the list box, I need to click on a Filter command button and filter out the datagrid.
    I was using the following code -

Private Function AppluFilter()
    Dim strValue As String
    Dim oItem As Variant
    Dim i As Integer

For Each oItem In lstFilter.ItemsSelected
    If i = 0 Then
    strValue = CStr(lstFilter.ItemData(oItem))
    Else
    strValue = strValue & ", " & CStr(lstFilter.ItemData(oItem))
    End If
    i = i + 1
    Next

Me.sbfDetails.Form.Filter = "VenNum In ( " & strValue & ")"
    Me.sbfDetails.Form.Filter = True
    End Function

VenNum is the unique identifier and its numeric. The function does not generate an error, however it does not apply the filter either. What am I missing?
    Thank you

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    You are setting the Filter twice. Second needs to be FilterOn property. Try:
    Me.sbfDetails.Form.FilterOn = True
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

thank you very much for such a speedy reply! After I've made the change, the filter got applied, however the datagrid became blank - no records shown. I quess I ommited to say in my original email that I have a "parent" grid control on the main form which is tied to a subform control via VenNum field. I don't know if this dependancy creates a problem.

thanks again!