jamiers is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Unhappy Sign Out and Sign In Student Database

Hi All....

I'm struggling. I consider myself a medium knowledge person when it comes to Microsoft Access. I have done relational databases before and know my way around some of the basics. Unfortunately, this new project is kicking me in the butt big time

I am a teacher in an elementary school classroom. Not that you need to know this, but I have a class coming in the door who has "bathroom" issues and really can't be trusted to be out of the classroom without causing SERIOUS issues -- especially the boys! Probably more than you wanted to know!?

I am trying to create a database where students sign in and out of the classroom on their own by using a computer by the door way. This will allow me to track who is in the bathroom and provide a report to parents who might ask -- I need data before I can put interventions in place... and I don't want to deal with the paper and clipboard at the doorway and then go back through pages and pages to find the data I need.

So..... Here is where I am.

I want the students to be able to enter their student ID into a form.
    - Form checks to see if the student is out. If out - sent to sign in form. Click a button to place the sign-in time on the record
    - If student is not out (no record in the query), then send to form asking for reason for out. Click button to place date/time in field to be out.

So.... here is what I am struggling with -- first form (which will search to see if record is present and then move to the two forms noted above)....

I need to create a fool-proof system because they are 8 year olds. I don't want to have to administrate the system while I am teaching! The first form has to search for the conditions above so they don't have to determine if they are signing in or out.