Lyndy is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Exclamation data entry not allowed in subform?

Being new to Access I am still learning so there is probably a very simple solution to my problem and would appreciate your assistance. I have created a subform using fields from tables. When I attempt to complete the form in form view, none of the fields will allow me to enter any information the cursor tabs to each field and the combo boxes show a selection but will not enter the information into the form. I have gone to the properties sheet for each field but there are no Data Entry tabs to adjust under the data tab.

John_G is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Hi -

The property to check is the "locked" property for the individual fields - it must be set to "No".

Also check the "Allow Edits" property of the subform - it must be "Yes".

You wrote that sub-form is created using fields from tables - plural. Is the record source for the subform a query? If so, the query must be updateable, otherwise you will get the problem you are experiencing.

HTH

John

Lyndy is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Quote Originally Posted by John_G View Post
    Hi -

The property to check is the "locked" property for the individual fields - it must be set to "No".

Also check the "Allow Edits" property of the subform - it must be "Yes".

You wrote that sub-form is created using fields from tables - plural. Is the record source for the subform a query? If so, the query must be updateable, otherwise you will get the problem you are experiencing.

HTH

John
    Hi John,
    Many Thanks for your quick response! I have checked the individual fields and the "locked" tab reads "No" The subform property allows edits too. I have used fields from 2 Tables I have not used Queries.
    I still am not able to enter data?

John_G is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003