Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    tanveerksingh is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6

    Automatic duplication of form when pressing ENTER

    Hi everyone,



    I am brand new to Microsoft Access so I have close to zero knowledge about the program. I just recently figured out how to create a form. My form has 5 fields (ex. name, date, etc.) and one has a drop-down list associated with it. I am conducting research and I need to basically create a series of forms to log information for each research participant (one form per person). Previously, this log was created by someone else and they were able to get the form to duplicate when pressing enter. In other words, when a form has been completed and one presses enter, a new (blank) form appears to input information for the next research participant.

    This all sounds complicated, but I basically just need two things:
    1. The form must duplicate (blank one appears) when ENTER is pressed
    2. The forms are displayed in a "list" view rather than having to push the arrow buttons to go through them (you can see all of them by scrolling up and down)

    I don't even know if this is possible, but hopefully someone can help me with these tasks.

    THANK YOU in advance!

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,752
    1. This is simply moving to a new record.

    2. This is a form set to Datasheet view or Continous view.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    tanveerksingh is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    1. This is simply moving to a new record.

    2. This is a form set to Datasheet view or Continous view.
    Thanks for your help! I'm very new to Access, so could you explain how to move to a new record? Also, how do I change to Continuous view?

  4. #4
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,016
    First off, you really need to take the time to learn at least the ABCs of Access, i.e. names of the objects, so that you can ask your questions and understand the answers.

    You're speaking of duplicating Records, not Forms, as June7 has said! A Form is usually comprised of multiple Records.

    • If you want the Records to appear as a spreadsheet would, with a single Row representing a single Record, you'd use a Datasheet View Form.
    • If you want the Multiple Records to appear on the Form and have the ability to scroll up and down to view them, but have the ability to have more than one line of Controls per Record, you'd use a Continuous View Form.


    To set the Form's Default View, open it in Form Design View
    1. Go to Properties - Format
    2. Set the Default View Property to either Datasheet or Continuous View
    3. Now click on the Properties Cycle Tab
    4. Make sure that the Cycle Property is set to 'All Records'
    5. Save the Form


    Now, when you reach the final Control on a Record, fill it in and hit <Enter> you should move to a New Record.

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  5. #5
    tanveerksingh is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Hi Missinglinq,

    Thank you! That's helpful, but how do I move to a new record? I do see a button option that says "New Record" but Access doesn't allow me to click on it (it's in grey). What am I doing wrong here?

  6. #6
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,016
    That would indicate that your Form is Read-Only, for some reason.

    Is your Form based on a Table or a Query?

    If based on a Table, is your Form Bound to your underlying Table? In Form Design View, go to Properties - Data and check the Record Source Property; is the name of your Table listed in the box?

    The reasons that a Bound Form cannot have New Records added include:

    1. AllowAdditions for the Form is set to No
    2. The underlying Query the Form is based on is Read Only
    3. User doesn't have Read and/or Write Permission for the Folder where the Data resides.
    4. Folder the File resides in (in versions 2007/2010) not having been declared as 'Trusted'
    5. Form's Recordset Type is set to Snapshot
    6. All Controls on the Form being Locked or Locked and Disabled.

    To see if #2 is the case, from the Objects Dialog Box go to Queries and click on the Query that your Form is based on to open it. Now try to enter a New Record directly into the Query. If you're unable to do so, this is the cause of your problem.

    If your Query is Read Only, follow this link to Allen Browne’s article explaining the reasons this happens.

    http://allenbrowne.com/ser-61.html

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  7. #7
    tanveerksingh is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thank you!! It looks like now when I type into the any of the fields of the last record, a new record automatically appears below it (which is what I wanted).

  8. #8
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,016
    Glad we could help!

    Good luck with your project!

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Pressing the Enter key performs a task...
    By Fish218 in forum Forms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-06-2012, 02:18 PM
  2. Record automatic ranking on form
    By aat in forum Access
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-12-2012, 02:27 AM
  3. Prevent Duplication in Sub Form
    By Jamaluddin in forum Forms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 03:31 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-21-2011, 08:57 AM
  5. Automatic Filtering when Opening form
    By Karyn-2000 in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2005, 09:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums