Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    TriAdX is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    9

    Inline Images with Text

    Precurser to the question:
    https://www.accessforums.net/access/...such-2647.html


    ok..

    so I got my Reports displaying correctly (for the most part)

    when i go to print preview I have 3 colums set and it ends up in 3 rows..

    so I have 9 "cards" displaying on one page.. This is great!

    The problem is that when i go to the next page and it loads the data, each of the 9 background images load (import) and I notice my MSACCESS.EXE in my Task Manager starts eating memory (about 70-100MB per page). Once i've loaded about 5-6 pages (for print or preview) it errors and says "Run-time Error '2220'; MS Access can't open the file '(my image path)'

    Why are my images causing access to just fill up on memory? Is there any way to fix this?

    My images(jpegs) are about 100k-200k (they need to be high quality for print) each max.

    Please help with this as I have about 30 pages (of 9 "cards") to print.

    I am using the below VBA code to generate the images from my path field:

    Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)


    If Len(Me.TemplatePath) > 0 Then
    Me.Template.Picture = Me.TemplatePath
    End If
    End Sub


    I am also still looking for a way to take text from a cell and have "keywords" display as an image. EX:

    Textbox:

    "Be sure to use the one with the {image here} symbol first."


    please help.
    Last edited by TriAdX; 08-24-2009 at 02:29 PM.

  2. #2
    TriAdX is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    9
    ok... everything is printing! (no thanks to anyone here.. but anyway..)


    Next question... How do I get images inline with my text.

    I need something like...

    "This is a text box and I need an image right in the middle of text! This smiley face is a great example! So is that one!"

    can someone please point me in the right direction?

  3. #3
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,921
    Sorry that no one here had a suggestion for your problem. Do you care to share your solution with us? As for your next issue (which should have been in a new thread BTW) I believe you will need to use RichText for that but I'm not sure.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  4. #4
    TriAdX is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    9
    The problem was simply that the path was incorrect for 1 cell.

    The path had a , instead of a .

    I tried looking up the RTF and I couldnt find anything that described what I was looking for.

    again.. I just was my Data cell to look something like:

    "All of this great text is fine but i need a (!S) to help and if I dont get a (!S) then i will be (!F) and that will be no good."

    and when I print my report it needs to show like:
    "All of this great text is fine but i need a to help and if I dont get a then i will be and that will be no good."


    any help would be greatly appriciated.

  5. #5
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,921
    Maybe Stephan Lebans code will work for you.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  6. #6
    TriAdX is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    9
    That is close.. Some of it was over my head but i got it so i could put a image inline.. the only problem is that it actually stores the image in the data field in the database. I want to use an outside image. (so the database only stores my text content and my "symbol" to call the image path) I was hoping i could just use the vb code part of access to define my image paths and what "code/symbol" should be replaced by that image/image path.

    I cant have the images stored in the database.

  7. #7
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,921
    Sorry but I do no not have an answer for you here.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

  8. #8
    TriAdX is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    9
    I appriciate all the help you have given me. Do you know of another good forum to try and get this info? Or possibly an email of a Access Guru.

    This seems like it should be a fairly simple script... but maybe not.

    Any last ideas?

  9. #9
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,921
    You can try: Utter Access or Access World Forums
    Good luck with your quest.
    (RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro Win10 Pro - acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13
    How to mark the thread as Solved!
    Teaching is not filling a bucket but lighting a fire.
    Borrowed quote..."Docendo discimus"

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Print Layout
    By Mxcsquared in forum Forms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-30-2013, 11:40 AM
  2. add a print button
    By gromit95 in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-13-2008, 07:28 AM
  3. PRINT SUPERPOSSITION
    By sergiogs in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2007, 09:24 AM
  4. print form
    By vam in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-02-2006, 07:41 AM
  5. cannot print labels
    By Diane in forum Database Design
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-29-2005, 08:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums