Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    shuto13 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    10

    [need help] fields not filling up properly

    hello everyone,



    once again I'm back needing some help...

    I have added fields (textboxes) to an existing subform. the added fields are H,S,E,O, L1,L2,L3,L4,L5 and strategy (shown in the picture). the idea is that the user will input either Y or T in those boxes according to the condition of the given item (each row)

    the problem is,
    you can see in the picture below (sorry they're kinda big )
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lta_fill1.png 
Views:	6 
Size:	164.1 KB 
ID:	8632
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lta_fill2.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	173.3 KB 
ID:	8633
    one selection populates the whole column.
    what am I doing wrong?

    oh yeah, does the fact that the added textboxes are unbound help contribute to my problem?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lta_fill3.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	161.4 KB 
ID:	8634
    the design view of the subform

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    2,901
    Having unbound textboxes means that they are not bound to a field in a table and therefore any data entered into them will not be saved into a table, so that is the essence of your problem.

    Now do the H,S,E,O, L1,L2,L3,L4,L5 represent? I ask because having sequentially numbered fields (L1, L2, L3, ...Lx) in a table is a sign of repeating groups which would not be consistent with a normalized table structure. In fact, it describes a one-to-many relationship which requires another table.

  3. #3
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    51,506
    Agree with jzwp11.

    Unbound data controls will show the same value for all instances of the control.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  4. #4
    shuto13 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    10
    thanks for the replies...
    @jzwp11

    H,S,E,O, L1,L2,L3,L4,L5 are part of a decision diagram; H,S,E,O represents the "field of damage", L1, L2, L3, L4, L5 represent the level of severity (for lack of a better term)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rcm_decision_diagram.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	190.1 KB 
ID:	8640

    sorry for the huge file size

    for the 9 fields, the input is limited to Y or T by means of a combo box

    so for each row of data (in the form each row represents a failure mode) the user will select the field of damage first, answering Yes or No.
    for example,
    H=Y,S=Y,
    then follow the levels
    L1=N,
    L2=Y,
    for the levels, everytime the answer Y is achieved, and the user achieves the type of maintenance plan for the failure mode.

    I'm sorry if this doesn't answer your question jzwp11

    anyways, the fields preceeding H,S,E,O, L1,L2,L3,L4,L5 were taken from another form of this database. the latter part was added just in this form for the purpose of doing the decision diagram.

    should I just go about creating a new table containing the "content" fields and the "decision" fields?
    because apparently to be bound they have to be from one field source?

    I'm sorry if the questions sound stupid, I am really new at this...

  5. #5
    shuto13 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    10
    figured this part out...thanks...

    ended up just adding to the main data table, and then making a new subform... the fields i needed to fill up at the beginning still filled up since the source was from the main table.

  6. #6
    jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    2,901
    ...for the levels, everytime the answer Y is achieved, and the user achieves the type of maintenance plan for the failure mode.
    From what you say above, it appears that you have to define tables & relationships that identify which type of maintenance is related to the various combinations of failure modes & levels. Even though you say that you have figured out your immediate problem, I think you have structural issues with your database that you need to address.

    I think you will need a table that holds the 4 failure modes (as records)

    tblFailureModes
    -pkFailID primary key, autonumber
    -txtFailureModeName

    Then you will need a table to hold the levels

    tblSeverityLevel
    -pkSeverLevelID primary key, autonumber
    -txtSeverityLevel

    Then a table to relate the failure modes & levels with the appropriate maintenance plan


    tblFailureModeSevLevelPlan
    -pkFailModeSevLevPlanID primary key,autonumber
    -fkFailID foreign key to tblFailureModes
    -fkSeverLevelID foreign key to tblSeverityLevels
    -txtMaintenancePlan

    Then you will have to tie the above to your system table (I assume since I do not know your complete structure)

    tblSystemPlan
    -pkSystemPlanID primary key, autonumber
    -fkSystemID foreign key to tblSystems
    -fkFailModeSevLevPlanID foreign key to tblFailureModeSevLevelPlan

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2011, 03:22 PM
  2. Filling in Fields
    By BigCat in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 02:02 PM
  3. Is there a way to do a query by filling in a from?
    By newtoAccess in forum Queries
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 06:05 PM
  4. Auto Filling
    By tgavin in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2010, 10:47 AM
  5. Auto filling form fields
    By adamch29 in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2007, 06:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums